27 December

Year 49:
Saint Thomas Aquinas (1225-1274).
Selected Writings. Selected and edited by M C D'Arcy. Everyman's Library (2nd ed., Dent and Dutton, 1964).
[incl. {858} Summa Theologiae; {859} Summa Contra Gentiles]

George Borrow (1803-1881).
{860} Lavengro. First published 1851. And {861} The Romany Eye. First published 1857.
[and {862} The Bible in Spain; {863} Wild Wales]

{864} Kuruntokai. (1st-3rd centuries A D).
[and {865} Akananuru; {866} Purananuru]

{867} William Makepeace Thackeray (1811-1863).
Vanity Fair. First published serially 1847-8.

{868} Sirat 'Antar ('The Romance of 'Antar'). First composed anonymously from disparate sources between 1080 and 1400.

Benjamin Jonson (1572-1637).
[incl. {869} Volpone; {870} The Alchemist; {871} Bartholomew Fair]

{872} Salvador Dalí (b. 1904).
The Secret Life of Salvador Dalí.

{873} Marcel Proust (1871-1922).
À la Recherche du Temps Perdu. First definitively published 1913-27.

Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel (1770-1831).
Selections. Edited by J Loewenberg (Scribner's, 1929). Or The Philosophy of Hegel: Hegel's Basic Writings. Edited by C J Friedrich (Modern Library, 1965).

Hiraoka Kimitake (Mishima Yukio) (1925-1970).
Hojo no Umi ('The Sea of Fertility', 1969-71), a tetralogy consisting of {874} Haro no Yuki ('Spring Snow'), {875} Homba ('The Runaway Horses'), {876} Akatsuki no Tera ('The Temple of the Dawn') and {877} Tennin Gosui ('Decay of the Angel').
[and {878} Kinkakuji]

Year 50:
{879} Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889-1951).
Logisch-Philosophisches Traktat. First published in Annalen der Natur-Philosophie, 1921. First book publication in bilingual form, as Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus (Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1922).

Giovanni Boccaccio (1313-1375).
{880} Il Decameron. Completed in 1353.
[and {881} Teseida]

{882} Nur ad-Din 'Abd ar-Rahman Jami (1414-1492).

{883} Plotinus (c. 205-c. 262 A D).

{884} Abu Bakr Muhammad Bin 'Abdulmalik Ibn Tufail (c. 1105-1185). Hay ibn Yaqzan ('Alive, Son of Awake').

Jose Ortega y Gasset (1883-1955).
{885} Espana Invertebrada. First published 1921. And {886} La Rebelion de las Masas. First published 1929.
[and {887} Meditaciones del Quijote]

Sir Rabindranath Thakur ('Tagore') (1861-1941).
Collected Poems and Plays (Macmillan, 1966).
[incl. {888} Gitanjali and {889} Gharer Baire]

Yüan Mei (1716-1798).
Sui-yuan Ch'üan Chi.

John Milton (1608-1674).
{890} Areopagitica: A Speech for the Liberty of Unlicenc'd Printing. First published 1644. And Poetical Works edited by Douglas Bush (Oxford U P, 1966).
[incl. 'L'Allegro'; 'Il Penseroso'; Comus; 'Lycidas'; 'On His Blindness'; 'Samson Agonistes']

{891} Immanuel Kant (1724-1804).
Critik der Reinen Vernunft. First published in Riga, 1781. Definitive edition 1787.